Respect

My employers have decided that I need to repeat training that I’ve already done twice. They have not stated a reason why. I’m not being singled out; we all have to do this. The training classes always fall on Wednesdays and Thursdays, which eats half of my weekend. Then we’re scheduled to work Monday to Friday the following week in a training creche called A Bay, which kills the entire weekend for that week.

They scheduled me to work 13 days straight, and nobody noticed until I made a stink. Now I’m getting lukewarm assurances that they’ll be able to find some days off for me somewhere…sometime. The last time this happened, they assured me that I could request days off in the vacation request system and that I’d get the half of a weekend back and then they turned around and denied my vacation time request.

This is the third time this has happened to me. Last time they offered training, I simply refused to show up at the training and I didn’t get to join the specalist team I wanted to. This time they’re not taking no for an answer.

I have to say I resent the hell out of this. I resent how they treat my time as their own, and act like throwing me a few days off, you know, whenever it’s convinenent for them, means they’re doing right by me. Like maybe I should be grateful.

Well I’m not grateful. I don’t want just any days off, don’t want the ones they can spare, if they feel like it. I want my days off. The ones I scheduled things for. I have things that really mean a hell of a lot of me scheduled on those days, and the knock-on effect of missing them will destroy my whole month. They notice at which I am informed of these schedule changes is far too short for me to re-schedule anything, and some things can’t be rescheduled.

My employers seem to think that they are entitled to any time of mine that they wish to take, not just a specifically agreed upon set of 40, but in fact all of them, to be taken at any time of their choosing. They’ll “give” me a day off, as if it was theirs to give, not mine to keep.

We did a shift bid recently, where everybody asks for the shift they want. I accepted that, for purposes of logistics, I had to ask and accept that I might not get what I wanted. But in the end, a schedule was set, and as far as I’m concerned we made an agreement: I would work a particular shift for them, and they would pay me for it. I did not agree to be permanently on call, which is what they are acting like.

If they had asked if I wanted the training, or offered me a training schedule that didn’t negatively impact my life, that would be different. If they gave me a choice, I wouldn’t mind at all.

I wasn’t given a choice. I was given notice that the month of June was being taken from me.

For the first time I am seriously considering qutting this job. I don’t know where I would go or what I would do, but this really, deeply offends me.

3 thoughts on “Respect

  1. My “employer”

    (air quotes because I am project-based and hence I have no days off unless not working, no benefits, no holiday or sick pay… and I’m typically told at the last moment when needed and given only short notice – sometimes same day – when the last day of a project is ending)

    treats me in a similar fashion, so I hear you. A key difference is that I totally love what I do when I am working… and I know you are just doing what you do for the paycheck.

    Nevertheless…

    If I want another job, there are literally millions available… like everything else in this world, “If it is to be, it is up to me”. That said, I can offer you my advice based on decades in the world of the Wage Slaves– don’t quit your job until AFTER you have the next one in place.

    And congrats on your upcoming Anniversary at your current gig 😉

  2. Totally agree with you, you had an agreement and they are now going beyond it without either adequate notice or compensation.

Comments are closed.